A medical marijuana card in Delaware allows you to purchase and possess cannabis for therapeutic purposes. To get a card, your doctor must write a written certification that you suffer from a debilitating condition and would benefit from cannabis treatment.
Heally offers a convenient process to check eligibility for a medical marijuana card online and schedule a video consultation with a doctor. You can also renew your card using Heally.
Visit a Doctor
If you’re a resident of Delaware and want to use medical marijuana, you must be evaluated and approved by a doctor before you can apply with the state for your card. You can visit a doctor in person or use telemedicine services. The doctors will listen to your health history and determine whether cannabis can help your condition. Most appointments take about 15 minutes, and if the doctor approves you, they’ll complete their portion of the physician certification form that must be submitted with your application to the state.
The cost of a physician consultation for medical marijuana in Delaware is $50, and it’s non-refundable. This makes it more attractive to use a service like Heally, which offers a 100% refund if you need to be approved for a card. Heally is also accessible to people with mobility challenges, making it easy to see a doctor without needing to travel or deal with the hassle of visiting an in-person office.
If you’d prefer to have a caregiver, you can also fill out the caregiver application on the state website. Remember, though, that a caregiver must be at least 21 years old, have never been convicted of a felony and agree to assist you with your medical marijuana use.
Fill Out an Application
If your doctor recommends medical marijuana, you must fill out an official application for a Delaware medical marijuana card. You may submit this application digitally or by mail. A fee is required, but under certain circumstances, you can apply for a waiver of this fee.
The Division of Public Health will review the completed application within 45 days. The Division will return the form to you for corrections if anything needs to be corrected or added. The Division will then either approve or reject your application for a medical marijuana card.
Medical marijuana is legal in the state of Delaware for patients who have been diagnosed with debilitating diseases or conditions. According to the state, some conditions that qualify include chronic or debilitating pain, severe nausea, wasting syndrome, seizures, and spasms that do not respond to other treatment options.
Anyone 18 or older can apply for a medical marijuana card in Delaware independently. However, if you are under 18 and qualify for a card, you must have a designated caregiver use on your behalf. A caregiver is an adult who acts on behalf of an underaged patient and can enter a dispensary on their behalf.
If you want to become a medical marijuana patient in Delaware, getting started with Quick Med Cards is easy. We offer online telemedicine visits with licensed doctors who can help determine if you have a qualifying condition and then provide a medical marijuana recommendation.
Pay the Fee
Under Delaware’s Medical Marijuana Act, patients 18 and older suffering from one of the approved conditions may purchase marijuana for their treatment at licensed compassion centers. Patients can possess up to three ounces of cannabis every 14 days, or six ounces per month at the most, and cannot cultivate their own. However, if you are a homebound adult with limited accessibility, you can designate a designated caregiver to act on your behalf and buy your medicine.
During your consultation, the doctor will complete their portion of the physician certification form, which you can then submit to the state along with a completed patient application. You will also need to pay the State fee.
The medical professional will then review your application, evaluation and records and make a decision. The visit will generally last about 10-15 minutes. If the doctor approves your application, they will register you with the State of Delaware and provide you with a card you can use at licensed dispensaries.
Suppose you change your mind before the appointment. In that case, a refund policy is in place as long as it occurs before the medical professional has registered you with the State of Delaware and issued a recommendation. Likewise, you can request a refund after the evaluation and approval as long as it’s before your certificate expires.
Get Your Card
After your appointment, if you are approved for a Delaware medical marijuana card, our team will take care of the rest of the process. This includes getting you a temporary medical marijuana card that will allow you to purchase cannabis at a Delaware dispensary.
During your consultation, the physician will fill out their portion of the physician certification form. This will verify that you have a qualifying condition and that the doctor has recommended using medical marijuana to treat your situation.
You will then submit the physician’s attestation to the Delaware Department of Health and Social Services (DHSS). The DHSS will review the attestation and approve or deny it within 45 days.
Once the attestation is approved, you will be mailed your medical marijuana card. You must bring your card and government-issued ID when visiting a Delaware medical marijuana dispensary.
You must re-certify your MMJ card annually by visiting a licensed physician. Heally will notify you when your certificate is approaching expiration and help you schedule a renewal consultation.